Katie’s Pick of Punch 3

Pick of Punch is a series of selected quotes from old Punch magazines, chosen by guest blogger and Punch enthusiast Katie Marriott.

The year after the “Great Stink” in London, work had begun on a sewerage system, but would not be completed until 1875.  In August 1859, the summer heat was unpleasant in London, and Punch published the following poem:

THE SONG OF THE WOULD-BE MERMAN

Under the Sea! Under the Sea!
That’s where this weather ’twere jolly to be;
Under the Sea! Under the Sea!
‘Twere a paradise charming to me.
In March, March, March,
London is pleasant, but in it at present
I parch, parch, parch,
And pant to be under the Sea.
Under the Sea! Under the Sea!
What bliss from the smell of the Thames to be free!
Under the Sea! Under the Sea!
‘Tis there I would revel to be.

Under the Sea! Under the Sea!
How pleasant the full-bodied porpoise must lie!
Under the Sea! Under the Sea!
E’en a shrimp is more happy than I.
How I sigh, sigh, sigh,
For some good-natured fairy to carry me where I
Could lie, lie, lie
On my back in the bed of the Sea!
Under the Sea! Under the Sea!
With a mermaid to fan me, how happy I’d be!
Under the Sea! Under the Sea!
Oh, the life of a Merman for me!

This pick of Punch appeared in the 13th August 1859 edition.

About Windows into History

Author of windowsintohistory.wordpress.com Administrator of frontiersmenhistorian.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in 19th Century, History, Pick of Punch, Poetry, Punch, Punch Magazine and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

