The Wonder of Nature

Quick Quotes 12. The following is taken from George Head’s Forest Scenes and Incidents in the Wilds of North America (1829):

I descended the bank and crossed the river, entering a little way into the forest. All was silence and solitude; animals and birds seemed to have deserted the country, except the squirrel and the woodpecker, and these at times I could hear a long way off. The squirrel followed me as I went along, chattering and jumping from tree to tree among the branches; a man of pleasure, eager in the pursuit of the novel and the curious!— while the woodpecker, like a steady man of business, hammered and rapped away, less easily allured from his daily occupation. I rested and listened. There was no wind; even these small sounds pervaded large regions of space; and, at intervals, the creaking of the old trees, and the heavy lumping fall of the clotted snow through the branches, rendered the contrast with animated nature still more dismal. I left the wood, and proceeded along the bed of the river, which was of considerable breadth; and here I walked for upwards of an hour, without seeing a track or footmark of any sort. Had I not known that I was within a short distance of a human dwelling, nothing that I then saw could have led me to conclude that such had been the case.


“Quick Quotes” are some bonus content for the blog. Each time I find an interesting or amusing little quote from and old (verging on forgotten) book, that does not really need any further explanation or background information, it will appear on Windows into History under this heading. You can keep updated each time I post a new entry by clicking on the follow button on the right of the screen. I welcome any comments or suggestions, and will consider guest posts.

About Windows into History

Author of windowsintohistory.wordpress.com Co-writer on junkyardview.wordpress.com Administrator of frontiersmenhistorian.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in 19th Century, Books, History, Nature, Quick Quotes, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

